Tigers News · National Journalism Award Winners 2019

The 2019 Tiger Paw yearbook received third place in the Best of Show competition at the National High School Journalism Convention this past weekend in Washington, DC. This is the highest rating Tiger Paw has ever received in the Best of Show contest sponsored by the National Scholastic Press Association.
Oakville High School students earned 10 individual awards in student media contests at the National High School Journalism Convention.  Two entries won Superior awards, the highest rating possible in each contest. Jordan Beseda earned a Superior award in the Broadcast Anchor category, while Sarah Goodson received Superior in Yearbook Copy and Captions: Sports.

Brittany Kohne earned an Excellent rating in her Broadcast Newswriting contest and Amanda Parker received an Excellent rating in Editorial Writing. Sam Gindler (First-Year Photo), Katelyn Jackson (Yearbook Copy and Captions: Academics), Cassandra Ludwig (Newswriting), Lydia Manning (Feature Writing), Emily Merritt (Sports Action Photography), and Davin Smith (General or Spot News Photography) all received honorable mention awards.

A record 2,126 students participated in the contests. Only 864 (40.6%) students received awards.  Congratulations to these National Journalism Award Winners

  • Jordan Beseda
    Broadcast Anchor
  • Sarah Goodson
    Yearbook Copy: Sports
  • Brittany Kohne
    Broadcast Newswriting
  • Amanda Parker
    Editorial Writing
  • Sam Gindler
    Honorable Mention
    First-Year Photo
  • Katelyn Jackson
    Honorable Mention
    Yearbook Copy: Academics
  • Cassandra Ludwig
    Honorable Mention
  • Lydia Manning
    Honorable Mention
    Feature Writing
  • Emily Merritt
    Honorable Mention
    Sports Action Photo
  • Davin Smith
    Honorable Mention
    Spot News Photo